Organisation and actors

Various actors from research and the administration are responsible for conducting NRP 73.

​The Steering Committee is responsible for running the programme - from selecting projects to scientific quality assurance and producing a synthesis at the end of the programme.

The programme manager and the president of the Steering Committee are responsible for the operational management. The head of knowledge transfer is responsible for communicating the research results to target audiences. The representative of the federal administration will work with the Steering Committee and communicate results to the administration.The Sounding Board - a panel of experts from business, civil society, public authorities and politics - supports the transfer of knowledge from research to practice.

The National Research Council of the SNSF is ultimately responsible for the NRP. The delegate of the Research Council acts as a link between the Research Council and the Steering Committee.

Members of the Steering Committee

  • Professor Regina Betz, Center for Energy and the Environment (CEE), Zurich University of Applied Sciences (ZHAW) (Co-President as of May 2019)
  • Professor Gunter Stephan, Department of Economics, University of Bern (Co-President)
  • Professor Alison Anderson, School of Government, University of Plymouth, UK
  • Professor Andrea Baranzini, Geneva School of Business Administration, University of Applied Sciences Western Switzerland
  • Franziska Füglistaler, AdNovum Informatik AG and and Commission for Technology and Innovation CTI (ad hoc member as of 1 June – 31 December 2017)
  • Dr Michael Obersteiner, International Institute for Applied System Analysis (IIASA), Austria
  • Professor emeritus Anne Petitpierre-Sauvain, Faculty of Law, University of Geneva
  • Dr Pascal Sieber, sieber & partners, Innosuisse (as of September 2018)
  • Professor Helga Weisz, Department of Transdisciplinary Concepts & Methods, Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research, and Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, Humboldt University Berlin
  • Professor Roberto Zoboli, Faculty of Political and Social Sciences, Catholic University of Milan
  • Dr Fabian Zwick, Glas Troesch Holding AG and Commission for Technology and Innovation CTI (until 31 May 2017)

Delegate of the Programmes Division of the National Research Council

  • Professor Katharina Michaelowa, Institute of Political Science, University of Zurich (until 31 December 2020)
  • Professor Manfred Max Bergman, Department of Social Sciences, University of Basel (as of 1 January 2021)

Representative of the Swiss Federal Administration

  • Dr Sibyl Anwander, Federal Office for the Environment FOEN (until May 2019)
  • Dr Olivier Jacquat, Federal Office for the Environment FOEN (June – November 2019)
  • Susanne Blank, Federal Office for the Environment FOEN (as of November 2019)

Head of Knowledge and Technology Transfer

  • Dr Barbara Dubach, engageability

Programme Manager

  • Dr Pascal Walther, Swiss National Science Foundation, Berne

Members of the Sounding Board

  • Daniel Dubas, Federal Office for spacial development ARE (as of May 2020)
  • Kurt Lanz, Economiesuisse (until 28 February 2022)
  • Rebecca Knoth-Letsch, Economiesuisse (as of 1 March 2022)
  • Dr Michael Matthes, Scienceindustries
  • Martina Munz, Member of the National Council
  • Ruedi Noser, entrepreneur and Member of the Council of States
  • Dr Christine Roth, Swissmem
  • Dr Monica Rubiolo, State Secretariat for Economic Affairs SECO
  • Véronique Ruppert-Schmitt, Federal Office for spacial development ARE (September 2019 – April 2020)
  • Dr Thomas Wiedmer, Lecturer and member Board of Directors in the financial sector
  • Dr Christian Zeyer, Swisscleantech
  • Franziska Zoller, WWF

Further information on this content